Honolulu, Hawaii | New Photography Workshops | Oahu Family Photographer

If I had a dollar for every time someone asked me what kind of camera I use, I could totally afford all the awesome lenses I want!  It’s sad, but true.  I never really know what to think of the question either.  To be honest, I get a little nervous.  I always wonder if this person is trying to break the ice or judge me or just sound like they know what they’re talking about.  Either way, it’s a sticky situation.

Anyone that knows me well knows I LOVE my camera.  It’s a part of me, as well as a part of my business!   I get nervous if I don’t pick it up for too long.  That being said, I’ve known so many people who truly believe they need a “better” camera to take better pictures.  WHOA!  That’s like saying you can’t go anywhere because you have a Honda, not a Ferrari.  It doesn’t make sense!  It takes more than just a good camera to take great pictures.  I started out with a $250 Canon Rebel that my husband bought me for Christmas.  It wasn’t fancy, it didn’t have a manual mode or 60-some-odd focus points, but I used it as best I could.  I got to know that camera- and my style- by changing settings and playing with the different modes.

So here’s the hard to swallow truthif you don’t know what you’re doing, the camera doesn’t matter!  In my experience, 9 out of 10 times the issues are with the PERSON, not the camera.  Whether it’s a $100 point and shoot from Wally World or a $4,000 Canon 5D Mk III, if you don’t know how to use it properly, you’ll never feel comfortable with it.

Now, that being said, everyone deserves to have great pictures of their memories.  The kids at the beach, that awesome Thanksgiving spread you worked on for 2 days straight, the 0.2 seconds it takes for your toddler to rip open those presents you wrapped so lovingly.  These are the moments you want to keep, to treasure and I’ve decided to help you the best way I know how.  I want to help you get familiar with your camera, to learn it’s ins and outs.

Join me for my Photography Workshop!  We’ll cover the basics on what makes a photo great and how you can use your camera to its fullest potential.  Whether you have a dSLR or a point-and-shoot, you’re welcome to take part and learn how to better capture your family’s memories!

  • What Do I Need to Bring? All you’ll need is your camera, a favorite picture you took and pen and paper.  I will have some notes printed up for you to take home, but you may want to take notes on your specific camera or certain topics.  I do recommend brings a camera, not just your phone, since most of the information will apply more to your camera.  I will be providing refreshments and snacks, but you are welcome to bring your own.
  • Do I Have to Be a Mom to Join? Nope!  Most people I know who have questions on how to take pictures are parents, but everyone is welcome to join!  Whether you have 5 kids, fur-babies or just want to take pictures of your nieces, this workshop will help you understand how to make your pictures stand out from the crowd.
  • What if I Already Know the Basics and I Want More Information on the In-Depth stuff? Kudos to you my friend!  You’re still welcome to come to the workshop and practice those mad skills.  You can also contact me about a one-on-one session to talk about the more advanced topics at amymichele.photographer@gmail.com.

 

Blue+Grey Project  May 2014-3

Colorado Trip AUG2014-48

Leave a Reply

