Kaka’ako District- Honolulu, Hawaii | Being Featured | Hawaii Portrait Photographer 

!One of my goals for this year was to have at least one of my images featured.  I classified this under the “nice wish” category along with buying the new Canon 5DS (click here to drool with me!), all the L series lens I’ve been drooling over and finding a cake recipe that makes you lose weight. 😦 This has been a goal for over a year now and just didn’t know where to start.

As luck would have it, I ran across a post from a friend that had a list of places to submit photos to for feature.  Whoohoo!  Finally, a starting point!

The first week I submitted an image from January’s Senior Shoot Out to The Thrifty Tog Blog.  The theme was colorful and I just knew Kyanna, pictures on the graffiti wall would be a great fit.  I submitted the image and didn’t really think much more about it.  Then, out of no where, I received a message saying that my image was chosen as one of the week’s featured images!  You can see the featured blog post here.

Kyanna Senior Shoot Out HMSP 11JAN2015-0003Naturally I was completely stoked over this.  I mean, here was, February 1st and I’ve already accomplished one of my HUGE goals for the year!  Feeling like I was on top of the world, I submitted more images the next week.  One page I submitted to was Pearls & Roses for their theme of “Inside my Home”.

As I looked through my images I spotted one of Dove eating her lunch, completely covered in marinara sauce.  If this didn’t show a typical day in our house, nothing will!  I submitted the photo and again, forgot all about it.  Once again, at the end of the week, I received a message saying my photo had been featured.

This time it was different.  I actually had to read this blog post 2 or 3 times before I could believe it.  Not only was my image featured among the top 5 artists for the week…It was #1!!!  Holy Gods of Asgard!  Are you kidding me?  My little pasta monster won the first place spot?!?!  I was one proud momma!

Project 2015 Week 5-2I have now started scheduling a day to submit images each week by writing it down in my Photographer’s Planner from Colorvale.  I am so completely smitten with this planner and all of Stacie’s products, but that’s a whole different (future) post!  I will also share my system for submitting images in the near future.

A huge thank you and shout out to everyone who voted for my images.  You are making my dreams come true!  Wish me luck this week as I go for lucky #3!

Thifty Tog Jan Pick button Weekly Winner Pearls & Roses

One thought on “Kaka’ako District- Honolulu, Hawaii | Being Featured | Hawaii Portrait Photographer 

Leave a Reply

